Bhaskar Rao, named new Bengaluru Police Commissioner

Additional Director General of Police Bhaskar Rao has been made Bengaluru city’s new Police Commissioner. ADGP Alok Kumar, who took charge last month, had the shortest stint as city Police Commissioner and has been transferred to the Karnataka State Reserve Police (KSRP).

Bhaskar Rao was serving as the ADGP of KSRP. Meanwhile, IGP Umesh Kumar, who was the Additional Commissioner of Police of Bengaluru West division, is also transferred to the KSRP. In the downgraded post, DIG BR Ravikanthe Gowda is posted as Joint Commissioner of Police, West division.

Earlier, the new BJP government in the state transferred 16 IPS officers. ADGP Amar Kumar Pandey, who was at Karnataka State Human Rights Commission, has been posted as ADGP Law & Order. Kamal Pant, who was ADGP Law & Order, has been made the chief of the state intelligence wing, replacing DIG B Dayanand, who has been transferred to the Karnataka State Reserve Police. IGP M Chandra Sekhar, who was in the CID, is transferred to the Anti Corruption Bureau (ACB) and Hemant M Nimbalkar, has been transferred without any posting.

DIG A Subramanyeswara Rao, who was in Intelligence, has been made the Commissioner of Police of Mangaluru city replacing IGP Sandeep Patil in the downgraded post, while Patil has been posted as the Joint Commissioner of Police (Crime), Bengaluru city. B R Ravikanthe Gowda, who was also recently transferred to this post, is transferred without any posting. However, he continues as the chief of the Special Investigation Team (SIT) probing the IMA fraud case.